Daybreak Awards

Daybreak Press aims to create positive cultural change through literature. The Daybreak Press Book Awards uplift the work of  Muslim women writers by recognizing and honoring books that are most effectively creating that change. 


Any author who is female and Muslim.

Books published between 2000 and 2021.

Entry fees are $50 per category. Books may be entered in more than one category, but a separate entry fee will be due for each entry. Forms of payment accepted: PayPal.

Your application is not valid until the entry fee is received. Please submit your payment here:

Please submit two physical copies and one digital copy to:

Daybreak Press Book Awards
617 East 32nd Terrace
Hutchinson, KS 67502
Submissions must be postmarked by July 31, 2021


Winners will be contacted via email by September 1, 2021, and winners will be publicly announced on September 15, 2021. Winners will receive 50 book award stickers, a digital award seal, and a medal to be presented at the Annual Daybreak Press Muslim Women’s Literary Conference in Minneapolis, MN on October 22 to 24, 2021, which will be held either virtually, in-person, or in a hybrid format, depending on circumstances of the pandemic. Winners who are unable to attend the award ceremony will receive their medals and certificates by mail.

Not necessarily. This will be left to the judges’ discretion.

**Daybreak Press Book Awards does not shy away from difficult or even traditionally taboo topics. However, our awards are given to books that uphold the values of Rabata, Inc. This excludes books with explicit sexual content, gratuitous violence, or that present Islam as a problem rather than a solution.

Books submitted to the Daybreak Book Awards become the property of Rabata, Inc.

***Applications are not finalized until book copies and submission fee are received.

Thank You

For subscribe